Mitotic Cell Division of Eukaryotes - P2

Major Events of Mitosis
Mitosis has 4 basic sub-phases:
  • Prophase – Chromatin strands condense into chromosomes. The chromosome consists of duplicated, condensed strands of DNA, each copy called a sister chromatid.

  • Metaphase – Duplicated chromosomes align at the cell’s equatorial plane.

  • Anaphase – Sister chromatids separate and migrate to opposite poles of the cell.

  • Telophase – Chromosomes revert to their extended state (chromatin). Nuclear envelope reforms around each of the two groups of genetic material. Cytokinesis begins.​
The cytoplasm and its contents are then divided by a process called cytokinesis. In animal cells a cleavage furrow forms that essentially pinches the cell in two. Plant cells build a cell plate between the genomes of the two newly forming cells.

Virtual Cell Biology

You have free access to a large collection of materials used in a college-level introductory Cell Biology Course. The Virtual Cell Biology Classroom provides a wide range of free educational resources including Power Point Lectures, Study Guides, Review Questions and Practice Test Questions.

For classroom materials on Mitosis, see the VCBC Mitosis Lecture Main Page.
Endomembrane System of a Eukaryotic Cell, Mariana Ruiz

 See the 
 Photo Guide to    
 Mitosis Classroom  
Mitosis Classroom Exercise
The SPO website is best viewed in Microsoft Explorer, Google Chrome or Apple Safari.
More Mitosis Resources
  • Mitosis animated tutorial and quiz from Sumanas Inc.

Outline of phases of the cell cycle, including interphase and mitosis.
Table Summarizing Stages if the Cell Cycle
HINT! How to Remember Stages of the Cell Cycle
Students trying to remember the main stages of the cell cycle often use the following acronym "I-PMAT", with the slightly gross sentence "I peed on the MAT." This helps them remember interphase, prophase, metaphase, anaphase and telophase in the proper order.
Cytokinesis in animal and plant cell
PAGE 2                                                    <  Back to Page 1
BACK TO Mitosis - Page 1
End of Article
<  Back to Page 1

Page last updated: 10/2015

Cell Division: The Cell Cycle
Interphase consists of 3 stages:
  • G1 phase: cell grows in size (G0 is a resting phase where the cell is not dividing or preparing to divide.)
  • S phase: DNA is copied (replicated) in preparation for cell division
  • G2 phase: cell competes preparations for division

Mitotic Cell Division consists of 2 major processes:
  • Mitosis: Nuclear division (separation of the duplicated genetic material)
  • Cytokinesis: cytoplasmic division (cell divides into two daughter cells)

During interphase, the cell is not dividing, but is going about the everyday business of being a cell. The DNA is constantly being read and the genetic instructions translated into polypeptides, so the DNA exists in long strands called chromatin.

SPO is a FREE science education website. Donations are key in helping us provide this resource with fewer ads. 
Please help!

(This donation link uses PayPal on a secure connection.)

Schematic of the Cell Cycle: Outer ring: I = Interphase, 
M = Mitosis. 
Inner ring: M = Mitosis, G1 = Gap 1, G2 = Gap 2, S = Synthesis. Not in ring: G0 = Gap 0/Resting.
Virtual Biology

You have FREE access to a large collection of materials used in a college-level introductory biology course. The Virtual Biology Classroom provides a wide range of free educational resources including PowerPoint Lectures, Study Guides, Review Questions &  Practice Test Questions.
Hawaiian Ginger Flower